Certification of our organic clothing

The planet is facing global warming. The consequences of this state of affairs are visible across the globe. To remedy this situation, it is urgent to raise awareness collectively and in a very general way.

The Got Wet Sportwear Brand is concerned about global warming

All aspects of human life must be taken into account in the fight against global warming. One of the most important industries in the global economy is undoubtedly clothing. Indeed, every human needs to dress well, first to protect themselves from bad weather but also to show themselves to their peers. Moreover, clothing has a very important cultural aspect for every people on the planet.

This means that the clothing sector is primarily concerned with the fight against pollution on earth. It is for this noble mission that organic clothing certification bodies have been set up. These organizations include: GOTS; Oeko-Tex; OCS&GRS; Fair Wear & Dress Wear.

They all aim to produce clothing that respects sustainable development. This implies the exploitation of resources taking into account future generations. They also campaign for the improvement of working conditions in the clothing industry. Workers must be treated according to the standards prescribed by the ILO. Discover in this article the importance and mode of operation of these organic clothing certification bodies.

GOTS certification (Global Organic Textile Standard)

It is one of the most popular certifications among nature and human rights activists. Created by Ecocert, the GOTS certification has skillfully combined compliance with environmental and social standards. It is the consideration of these two important issues for the future of the planet and the respect of workers' rights that makes the success of this certification.

GOTS-certified textile producers have their employees work according to the standards of the International Labor Organization. In addition, the whole value chain of GOTS certified textiles must ensure that workers are employed in decent conditions.

The textile itself must meet certain criteria to be GOTS certified. For organic textiles, at least 95% of the fibers must come from plants produced according to organic farming standards. On the other hand, for textiles said to be based on organic textiles, they must contain at least 70% of fibers from organic farming.

Organic farming advocates plant production that respects the balance of nature. For this reason, it prohibits the use of chemical fertilizers and genetically modified organisms. GOTS-certified textiles are therefore safe for humans. They do not contain carcinogenic elements or other inputs harmful to health.

Created in 2006, the Global Organic Textile Standard certification has already been adopted by many textile producers, such as the famous firm Cotton Bee and us of course 😇!

Oeko-Tex certification

The Oeko-Tex certification is the precursor to organic clothing certifications. This certification is held by 18 independent organizations located in Japan and Europe. The Oeko-Tex label includes several standards. The Oeko-Tex certification standards are:

Oeko-Tex Standard 100: this standard allows the certification of four classes of products. Class one is dedicated to clothing for children under 3 years old. Here, the criteria are particularly stringent for producers of organic clothing. Then we have class II which certifies sheets, underpants, bras, t-shirts. It ensures that the tissues that directly touch your skin are healthy. Class III concerns other clothing such as jackets. Finally, Class IV concerns curtains and other fabrics used to decorate your home. The Oeko-Tex Standard 100 takes into account all the clothes and fabrics that are part of your daily life;
Leather Standard: this standard relates exclusively to leather. Nevertheless, it is similar to Oeko-Tex Standard 100 in its application;
Detox to Zero Certification: this is an environmental standard with which textile producers who use this label must comply;
Made in green: this standard combines compliance with social and environmental standards. It also makes it easy to trace a textile or leather manufactured according to the criteria of this standard;
STeP: this is the acronym for Sustainable Textile & Leather Production. This standard certifies that environmental standards and good working conditions for workers have been respected during the production of the textile;
Ecological Passport: This standard requires textile and leather producers to use chemical inputs that are not harmful to the environment and consumers.

    OCS and GRS certificates

    The international standards OCS (Organic Content Standard) and GRS (Global Recycled Standard) are part of the ambitious Textile Exchange program. Textile Exchange is an international non-governmental organization whose members are committed to a profound transformation of the textile industry.

    The Textile Exchange program advocates two main pathways to align the apparel industry with environmental and social standards. The first path is the production of organic clothing, the second path is the recycling of used fabrics in order to limit the search and use of non-renewable resources for textile production. This is why it has drawn up explicit and rigorous guidelines to support its members in their fight against global warming.

    Fair wear & Dress Wear certification

    The Fair Wear Foundation is an international organization which campaigns for decent working conditions in the clothing industry. Indeed, the production of garments and fabrics is one of the industries that employs the largest number of workers in the world. It is also one of the most successful industries because every human being needs clothes to cover their body.

    Based on a bitter observation that this industry sometimes attracts crooked entrepreneurs who practice forced labor and the exploitation of children, the Fair Wear Foundation has decided to put an end to these bad practices.

    The Fair Wear Foundation has four main types of entities:

    non-governmental organizations;
    business federations;
    trade unions ;
    the Clean Clothes campaign.
    The Clean Clothes Campaign is the initiating organization of the Fair Wear Foundation.

    Garment workers must be treated according to the standards prescribed by the International Labor Organization, abbreviated as ILO. This means that workers must work under the best possible health and safety conditions. Workers have the right to a wage that allows them to live decently. They must also have the freedom to form a union to better defend their rights as workers. No discrimination should be allowed in a garment factory on any grounds, be it racist, religious or sexist.

    Member companies of the Fair Wear Foundation are monitored through regular independent audits and direct interviews with employees. During these audits, factories are assessed to ensure that they comply with ILO standards.

    As you can see, ALL of our products comply with one or more of these certifications. Our concern is the total respect of these conditions and certifications.

    MEET THE GOT WET FAMILY!

    Got Wet Surfwear is for everyone.

    It is in this spirit of multi-generational, non-elitist and eco-responsible sharing that we have offered Water Sports CRAZIES to wear our clothes and give us their feedback. They are in fact our best Ambassadors.

    Discover them!

    DelBess

    Delphine AKA "DELBESS"
    "Delphine the siren of the Team! I am an aquaholic and proud of it :)

    Discover me
    doud_zzz

    Edward AKA "DOUD_ZZZ"
    "I'm really a bit of a jack-of-all-trades, I'm a Waterman Addict and Passionate!"

    Discover me
    JossMaori

    Jose Manuel AKA "JOSSMAORI
    " I love SURFERING and enjoying great sessions in Spain, my native country! "

    Discover me

    Our collection

     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
    Sold Out
     
     
     
     
     
    Sold Out
     
    Sold Out
     
    Sold Out
     
    T-Shirt Got Wet Surfwear "Stargazer"
    Sold Out
     
    Sold Out

Certification de nos vêtements organiques

La planète fait face au réchauffement climatique. Les conséquences de cet état de fait sont visibles un peu partout sur le globe terrestre. Pour remédier à cette situation, il est urgent qu’une prise de conscience collective se fasse et de manière très générale. 

La Marque Got Wet Sportwear est concernée par le réchauffement climatique

Tous les aspects de la vie humaine doivent être pris en compte dans la lutte contre le réchauffement de la terre. L’une  des industries les plus importantes dans l’économie du monde est sans nul doute celle de l’habillement. En effet chaque humain a besoin de bien se vêtir, d’abord pour se protéger des intempéries mais aussi pour se mettre en valeur auprès de ses pairs. De plus le vêtement revêt un aspect culturel très important pour chaque peuple de la planète.

C’est dire que le secteur du vêtement est concerné au premier plan par la lutte contre la pollution sur la terre. C’est pour  cette noble mission que des organisations de certification de vêtements organiques ont été mises sur pied. Parmi ces organisations, on compte : GOTS ; Oeko-Tex ; OCS&GRS ; Fair Wear & Dress Wear.

 Elles visent toutes une production de vêtement en accord avec le développement durable. Ce qui implique une exploitation des ressources en tenant compte des générations futures. Elles militent aussi pour une amélioration des conditions de travail dans l’industrie de l’habillement. Les travailleurs devraient être traités selon les normes prescrites par l’OIT.  Découvrez dans cet article l’importance et le mode de fonctionnement de ces organisations de certification de vêtements organiques.

La certification Global Organic Textile Standard GOTS

C’est l’une des certifications les plus populaires auprès des défenseurs de la nature et des droits de l’homme. Créée par la firme Ecocert, la certification GOTS a savamment su allier respect des normes environnementales et sociales. C’est la prise en compte de ces deux importantes questions sur l’avenir de la planète et le respect des droits des travailleurs qui vaut à cette certification tout son immense succès.

Les producteurs de textiles certifiés GOTS, font travailler leurs employés selon les normes de l’Organisation Internationale du Travail. De plus toute la chaîne de valeurs du textile certifié GOTS se doit de faire travailler les ouvriers dans des conditions décentes.

Concernant le textile lui-même il doit absolument remplir certains critères pour pouvoir porter la certification GOTS. Pour les textiles dits biologiques, au moins 95% des fibres qui les composent doivent être faits à base de plantes produites selon les normes de l’agriculture biologique. Par contre pour les textiles dits à base de textiles biologiques, ils doivent contenir au moins 70% de fibres provenant de l’agriculture biologique.

L’agriculture biologique prône une production des plantes qui respectent les équilibres dans la nature. Pour cela elle proscrit l’utilisation des engrais chimiques et des organismes génétiquement modifiés. Les textiles certifiés GOTS sont donc sans danger pour les humains. Ils ne possèdent pas d’éléments cancérigènes ou autres intrants nocifs pour votre santé.

Créée en 2006, la certification Global Organic Textile Standard a déjà été adoptée par de nombreux producteurs de textile, à l’instar de la célèbre firme Cotton Bee et nous biensûr 😇 !

La certification Oeko-Tex

La certification Oeko-Tex est l’ancêtre des certifications de vêtements organiques. Cette certification est détenue par 18 organismes indépendants situés au Japon et en Europe. Le label Oeko-Tex comprend plusieurs standards.  Les standards de la certification Oeko-Tex sont :

  • Oeko-Tex Standard 100 : ce standard permet de certifier quatre classes de produits. La classe une  est dédiée aux vêtements des enfants âgés de moins de 3 ans. Ici les critères sont particulièrement rigoureux pour les producteurs de vêtements organiques. Ensuite on a la classe II qui permet de certifier les draps, caleçons, soutien-gorge, t-shirt. Elle garantit que les tissus qui touchent directement votre peau sont sains. La classe III concerne les autres habits comme les vestes.  Enfin la classe IV est pour les rideaux et autres tissus de décorations de votre domicile. Oeko-Tex Standard 100 prend donc rigoureusement en compte tous les vêtements et tissus qui font partie de votre vie au quotidien ;
  • Leather Standard : ce standard est exclusivement destiné au cuir. Néanmoins il est similaire au Oeko-Tex Standard 100 en ce qui concerne son application ;
  • Certification Detox to Zero : c’est une norme environnementale à respecter par  les producteurs de textiles qui utilisent ce label ;
  • Made in green : ce standard allie respect des normes sociales et environnementales. Il permet aussi de pouvoir tracer aisément un textile ou un cuir fabriqué selon les critères de ce standard ;
  • STeP : c’est l’acronyme de Sustainable Textile & leather Production.  Ce standard certifie que les normes environnementales et les bonnes conditions de travail des ouvriers ont été respectées durant la production du textile ;
  • Eco Passport : ce standard impose aux producteurs  de textile et de cuir d’utiliser des intrants chimiques qui ne sont pas nocifs pour l’environnement et les consommateurs.

Les certifications OCS & GRS

Les référentiels internationaux OCS pour Organic Content Standard et GRS pour Global Recycled Standard font partie de l’ambitieux programme Textile Exchange. Textile Exchange est une organisation non gouvernementale internationale, dont les membres souhaitent une transformation profonde de l’industrie du textile.

Le programme Textile Exchange prône deux voies principales pour arrimer l’industrie du vêtement aux normes environnementales et sociales. La première voie est la production de vêtements organiques, la seconde voie est le recyclage des tissus usagés pour limiter la recherche et l’utilisation des ressources non renouvelables pour la production du textile.  C’est pour cette raison qu’elle a élaboré des référentiels explicites et rigoureux pour accompagner ses membres dans leur lutte contre le réchauffement climatique.

La certification Fair wear & Dress Wear

La Fair Wear Foundation est une organisation internationale qui milite pour le respect des conditions décentes de travail dans l’industrie du vêtement. En effet la production des habits et des tissus est une des industries qui emploient le plus grands nombre de travailleurs au monde. C’est aussi l’une des plus prospères car chaque être humain a besoin de vêtements pour couvrir son corps.

Partant d’un amer constat qui montre que cette industrie attire parfois des entrepreneurs véreux qui pratiquent le travail forcé et l’exploitation des enfants, la Fair Foundation a décidé de mettre un coup d’arrêt à ses mauvaises pratiques.

La Fair Wear Foundation comprend quatre principaux types d’entités en son sein :

  • des organisations non gouvernementales ;
  • des fédérations d’entreprises ;
  • des syndicats ;
  • la Clean Clothes Campaign.

La Clean Clothes Campaign est l’organisme initiateur de la Fair Wear Foundation.

Les professionnels du vêtement doivent être traités selon les normes prescrites par l’organisation internationale du travail en abrégée OIT. Cela implique que les ouvriers travaillent dans les meilleures conditions d’hygiène et de sécurité possibles. Les ouvriers ont droit à un salaire qui leur permet de vivre décemment. Ils doivent aussi avoir la latitude de se regrouper en syndicat pour une meilleure défense de leurs droits de travailleurs. Aucune discrimination ne doit être admise au sein d’une usine de production de vêtement sous aucun motif, qu’il soit raciste, religieux ou basé sur le genre.

Le contrôle des entreprises adhérentes à  la Fair Wear Foundation passe par des audits indépendants et réguliers et aussi par des entretiens directs avec les employés. Lors de ces missions de contrôles les usines sont évaluées pour vérifier qu’elles respectent effectivement les normes de l’OIT.

Comme vous l'avez compris, TOUS nos produits sont respectueux de l'une ou de toutes de ces certifications. Notre soucis est le respect total de ces conditions et certifications.